Smoke and Thunder Gaming

Login or Register
Smoke and Thunder Gaming

Gaming Room

Dice - http://dicelog.com

D20 SRD - http://www.d20srd.org/index.htm

Pathfinder SRD - http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/

Modern SRD - http://www.d20moderndb.com/game-rules/d20-modern-srd

Pando - http://www.pando.com/

Dropbox - http://www.dropbox.com/

Open Office - http://www.openoffice.org/


    The end of the line

    Share
    avatar
    Robyo

    Posts : 2761
    Join date : 2012-04-29

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    93/93  (93/93)
    Action Points:
    9/9  (9/9)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Robyo on Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:56 am

    Olivia initiative: 4 + 19 = 23
    avatar
    Arcturus2

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2014-03-12

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Arcturus2 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:35 pm

    Elliot Initiative: 1d20 + 4 (13+4)=17
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:55 pm

    I will update tonight
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:34 pm

    Initiative for baddies:

    Male vamp: +8

    Roll(1d20)+8:
    5,+8
    Total:13

    Female vamp: +8

    Roll(1d20)+8:
    6,+8
    Total:14

    Mummies: +0

    Roll(1d20)+0:
    3,+0
    Total:3

    LOl... he we go again with the shitty GM dice (facepalm)... (I'll roll for Gaspard)

    Initiative Order:
    JT - 24
    Olivia - 23
    Gaspard - 19
    Elliot - 17
    Vamp - Anak Shep-sut - 14
    Vamp - Thutmose - 13
    CRIII and the Colonel - 12
    Mummies - 3

    Map is updated, JT is up (though I said that the Colonel can make a knowledge roll... up to Matt if he wants to do it)



    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:18 pm

    Know - arcana/religion


    Result of the throw of dice "1d20 +5" :

    20 + 5 = 25
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:52 pm

    what are you trying to learn? If you're trying to learn weaknesses... it's actually Knowledge Religion for Undead
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:58 pm

    MAS wrote:
    Chris wrote:Initiative
    Roll(1d20)+5:
    19,+5
    Total:24

    JT whispers, "Anyone know if the moonlight is significant.... reflected sunlight maybe?"

    GM - would a skill check have to occur on my action count at this point? I'd like to roll a know arcana/religion to attempt an answer to JT's question.

    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:15 pm

    ah, in that case, you don't think it would be powerful enough (the moonlight) to achieve that sort of thing.
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:38 pm

    JT barks to his friends, "Concentrate all attacks on the 2 vampires, the mummies don't matter."

    JT quick sheathes his pistol and  charges at Anak Shep-sut, moving 60ft in a straight line to 0505, using the +1 shocking sword.

    "LONG LIVE THE QUEEN!"

    +10 to attack +2 charging +2 favorite enemy undead

    Roll(1d20)+14:
    12,+14
    Total:26

    Anak is flatfooted since she hasn't acted yet and the mummy at 0906 doesn't get an AoO since he is also FF

    if that hits

    1d8 + 7 +2 undead
    Roll(1d8)+9:
    4,+9
    Total:13

    +1d6 shocking
    Roll(1d6)+0:
    5,+0
    Total:5

    +3d6 sneak attack
    Roll(3d6)+0:
    2,5,4,+0
    Total:11

    13+5+11 = 29 damage

    JT's current AC = 20 +3 offensive defense -2 charging = 21
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:35 am

    Nice attack and hit.

    JT hacks at Anak Shep-sut's torso and inflicts a serious wound....

    map is updated. Olivia is up.

    avatar
    Robyo

    Posts : 2761
    Join date : 2012-04-29

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    93/93  (93/93)
    Action Points:
    9/9  (9/9)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Robyo on Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:48 am

    Olivia will make a double move to hex 1205, taking up a defensive position. Between the statue and the bottom of the ramp, she can provide cover for her team and opportunity attacks against approaching foes (prehensile hair: reach 10').

    Questions: How tall are the sarcophagi? Do they provide cover for the vampires further back?

    The witch grasps Lucy firmly in her hand, keeping the undead in her sight.


    ok, done.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:39 am

    .. I almost forgot something, anyone that gets into 30' of the Mummies must make a Save vs. Fear. JT and Olivia need to do this at the moment. The sarcophagi are only about 3' tall. No cover bonus unless you go prone behind them, then it's full cover.

    I'll update the map after the Fear saves.
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:47 am

    whit10 wrote:.. I almost forgot something, anyone that gets into 30' of the Mummies must make a Save vs. Fear.  JT and Olivia need to do this at the moment.  The sarcophagi are only about 3' tall.  No cover bonus unless you go prone behind them, then it's full cover.

    I'll update the map after the Fear saves.

    I assume a WILL save?

    Result of the throw of dice "1d20 +5" :

    9 + 5 = 14 +4 if it counts as a spell or spell-like ability
    avatar
    Robyo

    Posts : 2761
    Join date : 2012-04-29

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    93/93  (93/93)
    Action Points:
    9/9  (9/9)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Robyo on Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:02 am

    Olivia WILL save: 18 + 11 = 29

    She yawns at the undead.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:41 am

    Olivia is fine... JT feels a wave of fear course through him... (hero point? you failed the save, it's not a spell-like ability).... scoff at my mummies will ya Twisted Evil

    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:04 pm

    whit10 wrote:Olivia is fine... JT feels a wave of fear course through him...  (hero point?  you failed the save, it's not a spell-like ability)....  scoff at my mummies will ya  Twisted Evil


    if it is something that will interrupt JT's previous action (which appeared to be successful), then sure JT will spend a Hero pt for +4 (hopefully that does it)

    if it is just an effect (shaken or whatever) that does not interrupt his previous action, but just debuffs him, then JT will not spend a Hero point and roll with the debuff
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:26 pm

    you'll want to spend the HP if you have it... it's paralytic fear.
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:58 pm

    whit10 wrote:you'll want to spend the HP if you have it... it's paralytic fear.  

    Chris wrote:
    if it is something that will interrupt JT's previous action (which appeared to be successful), then sure JT will spend a Hero pt for +4 (hopefully that does it)

    done

    is JT now immune to the effect?
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:51 pm

    you are immune for the next 24 hours from this effect
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:13 pm

    "maird!" shouts Gaspard... he runs to the edge of the wall and takes a shot at one of the mummies nearest Olivia...

    He is just out of range of the fear effect...

    Roll(1d20)+10:
    7,+11
    Total:18


    ... a miss. He curses again.

    Elliot is up.

    Map is updated.




    avatar
    Arcturus2

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2014-03-12

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Arcturus2 on Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:22 pm

    What's the distance between Elliot in hex 1706 and JT and the vamps he's engaged with? Looks like 60 ft, but does the ramp affect that?


    Sorry, the maps have been consistently great but the ramps in 2D just... mess me up somehow lol.

    Does Elliot have LOS in the action?  

    Also, what's the damage die for the flaming machine gun Elliot apparently got after the last battle?

    Elliot will make his save vs. The mummy fear effect now, since I know he will be moving into or through the range of the effect, but not sure if he's gonna open fire or charge into melee. Wanna confirm the distances first.

    Elliot save vs fear: 1d20+4+2 vs. Fear effects (18+4+2)=24..

    Elliot quickly assesses the situation while hesitating between attacking the vamps from a prudent distance with his firearms or charging to JT's side swinging his holy bayonet...

    Sorry I've been so much more absent from the forum lately,  work has been killing me and the baby has been a real handful..
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:37 pm

    no worries Dan, glad to have you around when you can!

    I didn't take any movement into account for the ramp, since it was downhill and GM Josh didn't say anything. I moved a full 60ft to be adjacent to the vamp lady.

    I am not sure the base damage of the machine gun, but it would add +1d6 for fire

    from the EQ page, I would guess something like this since GM said it was a .45

    Sub-machine Guns (Thompson, Schmeisser)
    1d8 damage, Critical Modifier: x4, Range Increment: 40', Ammo: 20 round magazines or 50 round drums. Multi-Fire capable (see SW corebook - page 165) Miss-fire on attack roll of 1 for a Thompson, 1 or 2 for a Schmeisser.


    BTW multi fire rules let you take extra shots without having the feats, just -4 per shot instead of -2 if you had the feats
    avatar
    Arcturus2

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2014-03-12

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Arcturus2 on Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:46 pm

    Duly noted, thanks! Elliot probably won't use it this round since JT might not appreciate friendly machine gun fire.. affraid

    So here's his move:

    Elliot unslings his trusty Springfield rifle-which he named Charlene, long ago, in the days of the Great War- (There are many like it, but this one is his..) while jogging towards the action..

    He stops at the bottom of the ramp, hex 1106, raises his rifle and takes aim at the lady vamp adjacent to JT..

    Attack roll: 1d20+13 (14+13)=27
    If that hits, he'll use his vital strike feat, damage roll:
    2d12+6+1d6 Electric ( 8+7+6+4)=25, 4 of which is electric

    ..And just so it doesn't get missed, copied from previous post:

    Elliot save vs fear: 1d20+4+2 vs. Fear effects (18+4+2)=24..


    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:25 pm

    yes, you have LOS.

    I'll respond to the rest and update tonight... still not sleeping much and I'm kinda slammed at work
    avatar
    navyik

    Posts : 2658
    Join date : 2012-03-22

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    51/88  (51/88)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  navyik on Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:37 pm

    Prone? What about a plain ol' rifleman's crouch? scratch
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:52 pm

    navyik wrote:Prone?  What about a plain ol' rifleman's crouch? scratch

    3ft is about 1/2 of someone's body, more than 1/2 if they are a dwarf. maybe Partial Cover?
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:19 pm

    Well, just to point it out, a rifleman's crouch behind the sarcoph. wouldn't allow you to shoot anyway. This game isn't that finely tuned. This is the best I can do.

    Elliot's fear save is successful... (you are reminded of the horror of the battlefield, but you are used to it and have the discipline to overcome your fear)

    Elliot's shot strikes home... the Anak Shep-sut isn't looking too good (she must feed, heh heh)
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:24 pm

    whit10 wrote:Well, just to point it out, a rifleman's crouch behind the sarcoph. wouldn't allow you to shoot anyway.  This game isn't that finely tuned.

    Sure it is, nothing here says you cant fire from soft or partial cover. Unless the sarcophgi are too tall to fire over/around at all.

    http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#cover


    Last edited by MAS on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
    avatar
    Robyo

    Posts : 2761
    Join date : 2012-04-29

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    93/93  (93/93)
    Action Points:
    9/9  (9/9)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Robyo on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:27 pm

    What are you guys so focused on a rifleman's crotch for?
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:33 pm

    Robyo wrote:What are you guys so focused on a rifleman's crotch for?

    LOL! lol!
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:45 pm

    Anak Shep-Sut is badly drained at the moment... she needs to feed.

    She reaches out Slam attack JT (and drain some levels) - 2 attacks

    Roll(1d20)+8:
    13,+8
    Total:21

    a miss

    Roll(1d20)+8:
    9,+8
    Total:17

    ugh... another miss.

    Her husband sees her plight and charges toward JT with his sword raised to strike (w/ Vital Strike)

    Roll(1d20)+10:
    17,+10
    Total:27

    Aha... a hit. The blade bites deeply into JT's flesh, he feels electricity shoot through his body as well

    Roll(2d8)+12:
    1,7,+12
    Total:20

    Elec. Damage:

    Roll(1d6)+0:
    1,+0
    Total:1

    He takes a second swing, targeting JT's axe (w/ Imp. Sunder)

    Roll(1d20)+12:
    3,+12
    Total:15

    and misses badly
    ... and the GM's dice are still rather cold. The Vamps have taken their turns, map is updated

    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:02 am

    whit10 wrote:
    Aha... a hit.  The blade bites deeply into JT's flesh, he feels electricity shoot through his body as well

    Roll(2d8)+12:
    1,7,+12
    Total:20

    Elec. Damage:

    Roll(1d6)+0:
    1,+0
    Total:1

    He takes a second swing, targeting JT's axe (w/ Imp. Sunder)

    JT smiles at the fiend's deep cut.  Pain awakens the senses.  Pain lets you know you are still alive.  JT is happy to have drawn the vampires' attention away from his new friends.  His stout body and heart willingly sacrifice themselves.  

    HP 51\72

    JT is wielding the +1 shocking longsword, not his normal axe, just FYI for future Sunder.  

    speaking of which.... you didn't say it, but I assume Vamp spent a Hero point for the extra attack?
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:06 am

    no, it was only a 5' step for him to get to you.  He could still take two attacks... thanks for the clarification though
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:50 am

    whit10 wrote:no, it was only a 5' step for him to get to you.  He could still take two attacks... thanks for the clarification though

    ah, then he couldn't use Vital Strike on me, since you can only make a single melee attack when you use that feat

    you want me to just take half the damage or just drop the 7 (2nd dice rolled) ?
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:29 am

    Nope... this was covered with Dan's fighter in the epic thing...

    Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

    It's just one attack out of all of them.
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:40 am

    whit10 wrote:Nope... this was covered with Dan's fighter in the epic thing...

    Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

    It's just one attack out of all of them.

    I totally disagree with your reading of the rules there, but ok as you are the GM.  

    that is not how Dan used it, as I recall.  he would move, then make his 1 big vital strike.  I am seeing a different wording than you are, which may also explain our disagreement here....

    Vital Strike (Combat)

    Vital Strike (Combat) You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal. ... Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6. Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength,...
    PRD

    Improved Vital Strike (Combat)

    ...Vital Strike (Combat)You can make a single attack that deals a large amount of damage. ...


    Greater Vital Strike (Combat)

    ...Vital Strike (Combat)You can make a single attack that deals incredible damage. ...



    you trade your other attacks for 1 attack that does more damage.  I think that is clear from the repeated use of the words "single attack" as used in the description of all 3 feats.

    but like I said, it's no big deal.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:47 am

    If you find a rules clarification that refutes my assertion, I'm amenable to it.

    the wording for that Feat says "When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage." It says one attack as a part of the attack action, usually, when you can only make one attack (like a charge or something) they spell it out in the rules.
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:30 pm

    Chris wrote:
    Vital Strike (Combat)

    Vital Strike (Combat) You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal. ... Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6. Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon's damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength,...
    PRD

    Improved Vital Strike (Combat)

    ...Vital Strike (Combat)You can make a single attack that deals a large amount of damage. ...


    Greater Vital Strike (Combat)

    ...Vital Strike (Combat)You can make a single attack that deals incredible damage. ...

    whit10 wrote:If you find a rules clarification that refutes my assertion, I'm amenable to it.

    the wording for that Feat says "When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage."  It says one attack as a part of the attack action, usually, when you can only make one attack (like a charge or something) they spell it out in the rules.  

    I just quoted you 3 places that clearly say you make a "single attack" when using the attack action, not "as part of an attack" which it does not say.  that is about as clear as it can be, the way I read it.  but it really isn't worth arguing about, it is a difference of like 4 pts of damage.  I just think you are misreading the rules as written and the intention of the feat.

    play on
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:38 pm

    Chris, that's not how it's worded. Fuck it, this is pointless to argue about... it's just one attack, he rolled like shit on damage anyway. (half of what was possible on the weapon itself).

    Just keep the damage as is and that will just be one attack, I still disagree with your interpretation though.
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Thu Jan 29, 2015 4:35 pm

    Who is up?
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:36 pm

    You are... sorry.

    The Colonel and CR III are up.
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:38 pm

    Free action, Judgement of Protection: CJC armor class is +2
    Double move to 1504.

    Hound, single move (40 ft) to 1403, ready action intercept/block melee attacker targeting CJC.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:20 pm

    sorry, I wasn't clear, the blue dividing line is where the "top" portion of this room drops off. 1403 would be about 20' below you. Do you want the dog somewhere else then?

    You will also need to make a Fear (Will) save vs. the mummies.

    I will update the map after the dog clarification
    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:20 pm

    whit10 wrote:sorry, I wasn't clear,  the blue dividing line is where the "top" portion of this room drops off.  1403 would be about 20' below you.  Do you want the dog somewhere else then?

    You will also need to make a Fear (Will) save vs. the mummies.

    I will update the map after the dog clarification

    Didnt realize the elevation difference - correction:

    CJC moves to 1307 on the ramp, hound directly in front of him.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:23 pm

    Movement corrected... Will Saves for both of you please.
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:27 pm

    Map is updated pending result of saves...

    CR III is up.

    avatar
    navyik

    Posts : 2658
    Join date : 2012-03-22

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    51/88  (51/88)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  navyik on Fri Jan 30, 2015 1:38 am

    CR3 spends a ki point to add 20' to his speed. Holding the magic stake, He moves 13 hexes to 507 (middle mummy gets AoO as does the king).

    Hero point +8
    Nonproficient -4
    Flanking +2
    Bane +3?
    Cr3 9+6+3= +18

    Roll of 2+18=20 to hit
    If that hits:
    3+4(flk)+5(holy)+2(str)=14 dmg
    avatar
    Chris

    Posts : 4848
    Join date : 2011-10-26

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    137/137  (137/137)
    Action Points:
    3/3  (3/3)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Chris on Fri Jan 30, 2015 2:07 am

    navyik wrote:CR3 spends a ki point to add 20' to his speed.  Holding the magic stake, He moves 13 hexes to 507 (middle mummy gets AoO as does the king).

    Hero point +8
    Nonproficient -4
    Flanking +2
    Bane +3?
    Cr3 9+6+3= +18

    Roll of 2+18=20 to hit
    If that hits:
    3+4(flk)+5(holy)+2(str)=14 dmg

    NICE!

    mummies are still Flatfooted Wink
    avatar
    whit10

    Posts : 3647
    Join date : 2012-03-27

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    19/19  (19/19)
    Action Points:
    1/0  (1/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  whit10 on Fri Jan 30, 2015 2:11 am

    ooohhh. sorry 'bout the two on his attack roll, that will miss.

    as for the AoO, the mummies haven't gone yet, not AoO there. The King doesn't get an AoO because you moved in and attacked.

    Map is updated but I want to wait for Matt's two Will saves before proceeding.

    avatar
    MAS
    Admin

    Posts : 2348
    Join date : 2011-09-12

    Character Information
    Hit points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Action Points:
    0/0  (0/0)
    Character Sheet:

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  MAS on Fri Jan 30, 2015 5:26 pm

    By two will saves, do you mean one each from CJC and hound?

    Sponsored content

    Re: The end of the line

    Post  Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:30 pm